Understanding Cycling Categories - UrbanCycling.com

Understanding Cycling Categories

April 24, 2023

If you're new to cycling or just getting started in the sport, you may have heard about different cycling categories. Cycling categories are used to classify riders based on their experience and ability level. Understanding these categories can help you find the right events to participate in and improve your skills on the bike. Here's a breakdown of the different cycling categories:

Category 5: This is the entry-level category for new racers. Category 5 races are typically short and geared towards beginners. If you're new to racing, this is a great place to start.

Category 4: Category 4 is for riders who have some experience racing or have completed a certain number of Category 5 races. Category 4 races are longer and more challenging than Category 5 races.

Category 3: Category 3 is for intermediate riders who have been racing for a while and have experience in longer races. Category 3 races are even longer and more challenging than Category 4 races.

Category 2: Category 2 is for advanced riders who have been racing for several years and have a lot of experience in longer races. Category 2 races are some of the longest and most challenging races you'll find.

Category 1: Category 1 is for elite riders who are at the top of their game. These riders are typically racing at a professional level and competing in some of the most challenging races in the world.

Understanding cycling categories is an important part of participating in the sport of cycling. Whether you're a beginner or an elite rider, there's a category that's right for you. By knowing which category you belong to, you can find races that are appropriate for your skill level and work towards improving your performance on the bike.

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.